Article Index

Professional Graphics

We were conflicted as to whether we would include our standard Adobe Photoshop CS5 benchmarks in this review as we are focusing on graphics performance since these tests are CPU bound. Since Adobe CS5 is OpenGL hardware accelerated, we left the tests in but need to change this test suite going forward to better reflect the capabilities of the hardware. The two Photoshop benchmarks we focus on, Driver Heaven's and Retouch Artists are very common and widely used in web hardware reviews so we are not alone in this regard.

Parts of Photoshop are highly GPU accelerated such as image rotation, zooming and panning but image filtering and processing is still the domain of the CPU. Other members of Adobe's Creative Suite are more GPU oriented such as After Effects or Premiere.

The WebVizBench benchmark we use for HTML5 Web Visual performance is a good example of how effective offloading image manipulation to the GPU can be.

The RatGPU speed run, which uses OpenCL compute to render a number of scenes, shows us that further driver and GPU Compute SDK optimisation is required as even when overclocked; NVIDIA SLI is faster than the HD7970. The architecture is too new and many independent software developers have yet to support let alone test the new hardware.

Compute Performance on HD7970 is only early days.

Maxon Cinebench R11.5 serves two main purposes in hardware reviews. To provide a fixed standard means to test CPU rendering of a graphical scene and to test GPU rendering of a different graphical scene using OpenGL. We are actually not interested in the CPU performance in the context of this review however; we achieved excellent OpenGL performance, a 1.5X speedup. Cinebench cannot make use of SLI even if manually overridden in the NVIDIA control panel so for users of this application in a professional setting are better off with a single fast GPU. Not a fair comparison, but a direct A-B comparison and we did try to speed up the NVIDIA test to no avail.

HD7970 delivers some of its best results in our test suite when it comes to professional CAD/CAM and this is not even the professional FireGL version. We can see performance gains of 1.5X to 3X in common professional titles, although we would have liked to see a better showing in CATIA. We need to put big disclaimer on our SPEC viewperf 11 results in that a typical user of these professional apps like likely either have a NVIDIA Quadro with a large frame buffer – up to 3GB with special professional Quadro graphics drivers or a FireGL card with also a large frame buffer and unique drivers. However, for the professional who needs a graphic design/engineering system the HD7970 offers very good performance in CAD/CAM without the price tag of a professional card. Like Maxon Cinebench, SLI support seems to be an issue here also but for some of the tests even if we could speed up the GTX460 SLI by 2X that would still not be enough.

2018-09-21 | NVIDIA QUADRO RTX 6000 In action - Photoshop, Porsche RTX, Kubernetes, CLARA and Metropolis


2018-09-20 | NVIDIA RTX Live Demo - Ray Traced Porsche on Turing GPU


2018-09-21 | EPSON goes bright with laser projection and 4K


2018-09-15 | 8 NVIDIA TESLA V100 VOLTA GPU server from HP


2017-12-31 | Future of Networking with Extreme Networks - Eric Broockman CTO Interview


2018-02-16 | NVIDIA’S VOLTA is real, it works and it is finally here.


2018-02-07 | motorola harbourside chat and interview | moto x4, g5s plus, 360 camera & gamepad


2018-02-07 | Inwin X-Frame product tour and interview


2018-02-07 | ASUS Zenbook 3 Deluxe UX490 Ultrabook


2017-11-20 | VICHYPER - Australian Hyperloop Interview and Tour


2017-11-17 | Eugene Kaspersky & Kaspersky Lab Press Conference Sydney 2017


2017-11-17 | Eugene Kaspersky Keynote Sydney 2017


2017-05-21 | AMD RYZEN - Australian launch and Q&A Session | BIOS Update Detailed


2016-11-21 | Motorola Mobility VP Engineering Interview | Moto Z and Moto Mods Developer Kit for Makers & Modders


2016-11-30 | EPSON Tech Interview | 2016 Business and Professional Projectors


2016-11-30 | EPSON Tech Interview | 2016 Home Theatre Projectors 6000, 8000 & 9000 Series


2016-11-22 | EPSON HDR Home Theatre Projector Demo | EPSON TW9300W


2016-11-21 | HDR video Demo - AMD Radeon 'Polaris' RX480 with LG OLED TV


2016-11-30 | Intel Game Chamber 2016 Tour and Interviews | VR, Games, PC Mods, Overclocking and FUN


2016-11-30 | Intel Core i7-6950X Broadwell-E @ 5.62 GHz Live Overclock | Intel Game Chamber 2016


2016-08-29 | LG puts OLED in all the things - Integrate/CEDIA AUS 2016 Booth Tour


2016-08-12 | What is Software Defined Networking with Doug Murray, CEO Big Switch Networks.


2016-06-17 | NVIDIA DGX-1 launches in Australia - NVIDIA ANZ Interviewed


2016-05-01 | Build a kickass Dolby ATMOS Home Theatre - The Pros show us how


2016-04-01 | The Panasonic Toughbook CF-20 Story


2016-03-23 | Seagate 8TB Family, 10TB Helium & Mobile HDD 2016 Hard Disk Update


2016-03-21 | Panasonic Toughbook 20 : Fully Rugged detachable Laptop launch - Water, Drop & Weight Tested


2016-03-23 | ASUS ROG Gaming House Tour - Sydney, Australia


2016-03-01 | ASUS ROG GX700 Liquid Cooled Notebook Preview & Interview


2016-03-23 | League of Legends Legacy eSports Team Interview


2015-12-09 | Microsoft Store SYDNEY - Grand Opening Press Conference


2015-11-11 | HP 6th Gen Core Intel Skylake PC & Jet Intelligence Printing Launch - Melbourne Experience Centre


2015-11-11 | HP Experience Centre Melbourne Tour -Part 2


2015-11-11 | HP Experience Centre Melbourne Tour -Part 1


2015-08-28 | Parrot Interviewed - Flower Power Wireless Plant Monitor


2015-08-28 | Parrot Interviewed - ZiK 2.0 Headphones


2015-08-28 | Parrot Interviewed - AR. Drone, MiniDrones, Bebop Drone


2015-08-23 | MOTO G 3rd Gen IPX7 Water Proofing Demo & Moto X Style/Play/G Q&A


2015-08-21 | Motorola Mobility Interviewed - 3rd Gen Moto G, Moto X Play, Moto X Style


2015-08-20 | NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 950 Launch Ep.1 | Gamestream Co-Op - A New way to share games


2015-08-20 | NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 950 Launch Ep.2 | MOBA/DOTA 2 Latency and Smoothness


2015-08-08 | Intel SKYLAKE i5-6600K LN2 overclock at 6.33 GHz with ASUS Z170 ROG Hero


2015-08-07 | Intel Skylake i7-6700K @ 4.8 GHz & DDR4 @ 3.5GHz on ASUS Z170 Deluxe Overclocking Guide


2015-08-05 | ASUS Z170 Deluxe Motherboard for Intel Skylake 6th Gen Core CPU Overview


2015-08-05 | Review - ASUS Installation Tool for Intel SKYLAKE 6th Gen Core CPU


2015-08-02 | HP Pavilion and Envy 2015 Consumer Notebook First Look


2015-07-25 | HP Envy Phoenix 2015 Overclockable Gaming Tower First Look


2015-07-22 | Ashes Of The Singularity - DirectX 12 Hands-On Demo with AMD FURY X


2015-07-14 | Media Q&A with AMD and Richard Huddy - AMD Fury X ‘Fiji’ Graphics comes to Australia


2015-07-14 | MSI Interview - AMD Radeon R9 300 Gaming, Armour and Lightning GPUs